Stretching myself toward my personal goals applies to many facets of life

This morning, like many mornings before, I set off on a power-walk up the hill behind us. The walk starts as a gentle climb and then gets steeper and steeper. I cannot make the full trip uphill without resting at least once on the way. This rest, however, enables me to look back down the hill and see how far I have come and enjoy the view.

Today I reflected on how similar my writing goals are to this walk. First of all, I’m doing the power-walk to get fitter – that’s my goal (and to fit into some of my stored clothing!). I get fit by exercising my leg, heart and lung muscles. (I’m sure runners will have more exact terms for these.) By writing, any writing, fact or fiction, I exercise my brain muscle and my writing will become more fit for purpose, which is my writing goal. I will, when I stop for reflection, see the words that reach my goal and those that need further work. I will be stretching myself toward my writing goals.

quail2

Once I reach the top of the hill there is a flat stretch that gives me time to enjoy my success. My heart slows and my breathing becomes normal. On the way down I don’t walk so fast. Now I have time to enjoy my environment. I watch a family of California quail scurry like ground-hugging bumble bees into the undergrowth. I note the purple stems of buddleia swaying in the gentle breeze. I watch the sea fog huddle over the spit. All these images I can store away in my writer’s brain and bring out when the appropriate moment appears.

Not only am I stretching myself toward my fitness goal, I’m also stretching myself in many other facets of life.

Heather180x220

Heather Sylvawood, Amazon Author

One thought on “Stretching myself toward my personal goals applies to many facets of life

Comments are closed.