What’s going onto your skin in make-up?

By Heather Sylvawood, Amazon Author

ManukaBergamotYlang

Going natural protects your body from cosmetic nasties

In this blog I have mentioned on occasion a number of alternatives to using chemical-based make-up and cosmetics. So it’s heartening to see similar well-researched articles appearing in main-stream press.

What’s on Your Face? Cosmetics Uncovered, by Sophie Barclay for the New Zealand Herald, continues the bad news about the ingredients of the products that are supposed to stop us aging and keep us attractive.  Barclay has researched the topic thoroughly and lists the worst offenders and the safest product lines, long with the ingredients that do us grievous bodily harm. Check out the article for yourself.

I have no recipes for make-up – I’ve given up pretending I need to be attractive to the opposite sex. However, there are some things I like to do to my body.

Avoiding tinea or Athletes Foot

I used to buy a cream from the chemist on a regular basis to clear up Athletes Foot. Somehow any bit of physical activity encouraged the fungus between my toes. Well, I have to tell you I have not needed any for over six months because I follow this process.

Into 1 tbs of olive oil I mix 10 drops tea tree oil/manuka oil (the active ingredient), 10 drops Ylang Ylang oil (for fragrance) and 10 drops Bergamot oil (because its supposed to have a beneficial effect on blood sugar levels – but also smells nice). I rub my feet and between my toes with this oil every morning and often at night. Feet smell great even after being in socks all day, and the oil keeps the skin of your feet soft.

EssentialOilsOliveOil

Lavender oil could add extra antiseptic strength to the recipe

I suspect you could substitute other oils, like lavender, for the fragrances, but I’m a fan of tea tree oil as it is supposed to be an antiseptic. Olive oil is an oil kind to the body, so use it freely. Quality olive oil won’t dominate the other essential oils even though they’re added in such small quantities.

By Heather Sylvawood, Amazon Author

